We’re sure you’ve seen the billboards, heard it on the news, and had discussions about seeding new cultural plants all over Arizona. Since 2010, medical marijuana has been legal in the Grand Canyon State. According to mic.com, as of May 2016, there were 99,895 qualifying patients in the state, published in a report by the Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS). Most were using it to treat chronic pain.
Arizona’s current medical marijuana laws allow those with cancer, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, PTSD, Crohn’s disease and several other conditions, including “severe and chronic pain,” to receive a doctor’s approved cannabis treatment.
Advocates in Arizona have already drafted a new initiative aimed for the ballot of the 2018 election cycle. The new Arizona medical marijuana initiative mainly focuses on expanding the list of conditions for patients qualifying for cannabis treatment, such as adding insomnia and Tourette’s syndrome.
Marijuana crusaders are also seeking to improve ease of access to store-purchased marijuana, and in some cases, allow patients to grow their own. With all of this growth and discussion in the wild West, maybe it’s time to get onboard and become part of the highly regarded movement.
Sounds like a plan? First, you need to know there are strict rules and regulations when it comes to being part of the medical marijuana bandwagon. The most important one being you must have a licensed, legit medical marijuana card.
The card can be obtained in these three steps.
1. Retrieve medical records that are less than twelve months old to showing you have one of the qualifying conditions on the diagnostic list. Make an appointment with a doctor, doctor of osteopathic medicine, naturopathic or a homeopathic physician licensed in Arizona by ADHS to practice marijuana medicine and get a signed physician’s statement from them. You must be a resident of the state and show proof of it. Remember to bring a driver’s license or identification card to your appointment. Patients under 18 years old must have a legal guardian register as a caregiver in order to apply for the card. A completed and signed electronic copy of the state’s physician certification form is a necessity.
2. If you are approved for a card, some certification clinics will immediately submit the required documents for you. Most clinics, however, will give you a signed physician certification form that you will need to scan and submit online to ADHS. Just a tip, the more medical history you can retrieve to have verified by the doctor or physician you see, the higher the chances are of speeding up the process to getting your card.
3. You will also need to scan in an electronic copy of photo identification; electronic copy of completed and signed qualifying patient attestation form; and the Visa or Mastercard number for payment. Once your documents have been submitted, you should receive your card in the mail within 7-10 business days.
How much the card costs:
$150 for an initial or a renewal registry identification card for a qualifying patient. Some qualifying patients may be eligible to pay $75 for initial and renewal cards if they currently participate in the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP).
$200 for an initial or a renewal registry identification card for a designated caregiver. A caregiver must apply for a new card for every patient under their care (up to five patients).
$500 for an initial or a renewal registry identification card for a dispensary agent.
$10 to amend, change, or replace a registry identification card.
You have to renew your card by the expiration date that is on your original card. You will need to obtain and submit a new, current physician certification; a new, current photograph (taken no more than 60 calendar days before you submit your renewal); and a new patient attestation form signed and dated with the current date.
What are approved medical marijuana patients entitled to?
By enrolling and receiving approval by the state of Arizona, you will be permitted to obtain possession of an “allowable amount of marijuana”. This means two-and-one-half ounces of usable marijuana.
If the qualifying patient’s registry identification card states that the qualifying patient is authorized to cultivate marijuana, twelve marijuana plants contained in an enclosed, locked facility except that the plants are not required to be in an enclosed, locked facility if the plants are being transported because the qualifying patient is moving.
Now that you have all of the information you need to obtain a medical marijuana card in Arizona, what are you waiting for? This is groundbreaking for the state, especially with the amount of pharmaceutical prescriptions given out that are incredibly addictive and even life-threatening. By taking the natural course to treating pain and disease, Arizona locals can lead the high life, legally.